Publishing a Module in Lt

Publishing a module makes it available to your students on their Lt homepages. Before a module is published and made available, it can only be seen by the Instance and Course Administrators, and Authors who have been invited to view it.

An entire module and all of the lessons within it can be published using the Publish option within the Module page. Only Course Administrators are able to do this.

Once a module has been published, you need to set the availability of each lesson to determine when they become visible to students. A red warning is displayed on the Module card to alert you to this. If you want all lessons in the module to become visible to students at once, select Make All Lessons Available. Note that a blue eye icon will indicate when lessons can be seen by students. 

If you prefer that lessons in a module become available to students at different times, you can set the availability of each lesson individually. To do this, select a lesson in your module, then select the Availability tab. If your course has been set up with Sections, these will appear in the Availability card.

You can choose to make the lesson available to all Sections at once using the Make Available to All button. Or, you may choose to set an individual availability time for each section by selecting the section, then the date and time you wish for the lesson to become visible to students. You can also set an automatic Commit time for students, after which the lesson becomes read-only. 

The following example shows that the lesson is currently available to students in the Monday section, and is set to become available to students in the Tuesday section in two days. The Lesson Availability card will display the availability status for each section, along with a color-coded status bar:

  • Red: Availability has not been set 
  • Blue: Lesson or module is available
  • Gray: Availability has been set, but lesson or module is not yet visible to students.

To edit your availability settings, select Change Availability at any time. Note that selecting Clear Availability will immediately make the lesson inaccessible to students. 

Finally, if you make any changes to the lessons within your module after it has been published, you'll be prompted with this message:

If you choose to update the published module, the updated module will appear only to students who have not yet started the module.

To see Publishing and Availability in action, please watch the Publishing Lt Lessons video