Course Rollover

To rollover a course for your next student cohort, we recommend you copy, rename, and archive or delete the course. This is important for two reasons:

1. Student cohorts remain separated in specific Lt courses, avoiding issues of repeat students seeing previous work.

2. Unless students have access to other active courses, student licenses will become available to apply to the new cohort. 

Note that you can also archive a course and then copy it, but you cannot copy a deleted course.

Step 1. Copy the course +

1. Select the course you want to copy

2. Select Settings

3. Select the cog icon

4. Select Copy Course

5. Rename both the Course Name and the Short Name to differentiate the new course from the original. A good practice is to include the year in the names.

Note that only the latest version of a lesson is copied and any published content will be added to the copied course’s Schedule view in an unavailable state.

6. If you would like staff to have access to the copied course, select Select Staff and tick those staff you wish to copy to the new course.

7. Select Create Copy

You will be taken to the copied course where you can enrol the new cohort of students and make content available.

Now you can either archive or delete the original course, both of which are reversible with no loss of work. The key difference is that students can still view an archived course with read-only access. 

Step 2a. Archive the original course +

When you archive a course student permissions will immediately and without notification change to read-only for the course. Staff can still copy and export content, view and export grades, and export student answers. Instance administrators and the course’s administrator can still access the course under the Archived tab. Lesson revisions are maintained so you can track changes.

1. Select the original course from the course list 

2. Select Settings

3. Select the cog icon

4. Select Archive Course from the dropdown menu

5. Select Archive Course

Step 2b. Delete the original course +

When you delete a course it immediately and with no notification becomes unavailable to the course’s staff and students. Instance administrators and the course’s administrator can still access the course under the Deleted tab. Lesson revisions are maintained so you can track changes.

1. Select the original course from the course list 

2. Select Settings

3. Select the cog icon

4. Select Delete Course from the dropdown menu

5. Select Delete Course

Reusing the same Lt course for a new cohort +

We do not recommend this workflow for rolling over your course. You can delete student accounts in an Lt course and invite a new cohort but there is the risk of repeat students’ accounts being restored.

For example, a student completes work in the course BIO101 in 2023 and their account is deleted at the end of 2023. If the student repeats the course in the following year, their account and any associated work will be restored when the new cohort is invited. If the lessons in BIO101 are reused from 2023 to 2024, i.e. not duplicated, then when the student accesses lessons in 2024 they will see the 2023 version. We recommend these steps if you reuse a course:

1. Duplicate the lessons between teaching periods and delete the original versions, or;

2. Reset repeat student progress. This removes the students’ work and grades and is irreversible.